Phil Collins is back with Going Back, in Motown Style

Grammy Award winning artist Phil Collins is back with covers of 18 classic Motown songs on his recently released album Going Back, which is currently topping the European ChartsGoing Back is Collins’ first solo album since the 2002 release of Testify

Going Back, 2010 Solo Album puts Phil Collins back on the Charts

Phil Collins has had a long and lucrative career as a drummer, singer and songwriter, but never had the time to record the songs the songs that he grew up with.  With Going Back, he took the opportunity to return to the songs he grew up with deciding to record them to sound like the earlier recordings he listened to.  When asked by Billboard “How did you go about creating an album of Motown and soul classics that didn’t sound like it was made in 2010?” Collins replied:

We tried to use the technology of today to get it to sound like the technology of yesterday. We did a lot of research into how they recorded things back then. In fact, when we were mastering the record in New York, at Universal Mastering East, that studio coincidentally is the storage venue for all the Motown masters. So as a treat they gave me two or three songs to listen to in isolation-I could hear the drums on Dancing in the Street. That was incredible.

With his unique and immediately recognizable voice, Collins’  interpretation of these soul classics are delivered with flawless timing and a roughly edged tenderness of his voice that seems only to improve with age.   Two singles from the album have been released, (Love Is Like A) Heatwave and the title track, Going Back.   Our favorite track from Going Back is Collins’ cover of Papa Was A Rolling Stone, written by songwriters Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong and made popular by 1972 The Temptations cover.


Phil Collins, Going Back, 18 Track CD:

  1. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
  2. (Love Is Like A) Heatwave
  3. Uptight (Everything’s Alright)
  4. Some of Your Lovin’
  5. In My Lonely Room
  6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)
  7. Blame It on the Sun
  8. Papa Was a Rolling Stone
  9. Never Dreamed You’d Leave in Summer
  10. Standing in the Shadows of Love
  11. Do I Love You
  12. Jimmy Mack
  13. Something About You
  14. Love Is Here and Now You’re Gone
  15. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
  16. Going to a Go-Go
  17. Talking About My Baby
  18. Going Back

Add a comment

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux